Sudden Feat
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Sudden Feat
Author Message
03-11-2013 09:02 AM
Post: #1
Sudden Feat



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 144
Joined: Mar 2013
The demarchon's tactic "sudden feat" allows a friendly model/unit to immediately use a tactic for free. It goes on to say that it even does that when the target already used a tactic this round. So if I use it on a model/unit after that model/unit activated, the model/unit can effectively use two tactics this round.

However, if I use it on a model/unit before its own activation, may the model still use a tactic during its activation? After all, it has already used a tactic that round, and the rules text of sudden feat only allows to use it in exception to the one-tactic-per-round-rule when the target already did use a tactic that round.

So if, say, I activate my demarchon, use sudden feat on a syntarch to put paean on a unit of hoplites, then activate the syntarch, can he still use counter-strike that activation?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 12:13 PM
Post: #2
RE: Sudden Feat



PraetorDragoon Offline
Member
***

Posts: 180
Joined: Sep 2012
"This tactic is performed as a passive activation and may be performed even when the target unit/model already used a tactic this round."
- Demarchon Sudden Feat

Yes. You can use another tactic.

(Read the cards. Read them carefully.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 01:31 PM
Post: #3
RE: Sudden Feat



Christian Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 229
Joined: Apr 2012
The only thing you must look after is, that a Self Tactic overrides a previous given Self Tactic and so on.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 03:33 PM
Post: #4
RE: Sudden Feat



Khazrak Offline
Member
***

Posts: 157
Joined: Dec 2012
(03-11-2013 12:13 PM)PraetorDragoon Wrote:  "This tactic is performed as a passive activation and may be performed even when the target unit/model already used a tactic this round."
- Demarchon Sudden Feat

Yes. You can use another tactic.

(Read the cards. Read them carefully.)

Yes, but I think, his question is still valid, even after reading carefully. Because reading "carefully", I see the word "used" - simple past. So, going strictly by the text, it would only help when they already activated before and made a tactic. Then the Demarchon could activate and let them start another tactic. However not the other way round.

Now, Christian and Simon said it's ok, but beforehand pointing to careful reading led to the actual problem and didn't solve it. Wink
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 05:24 PM
Post: #5
RE: Sudden Feat



Fenris Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 574
Joined: Nov 2012
I´m with Khazrak here. I think the second tactic must be the one from sudden feat. In Simons example the Hoplites could use Combined Attack and if the Demarchon activates later he can use sudden feat so that the Hoplites can use Phalanx.

A little clarification would be nice. Wink

Michael

Godslayer in Kaiserslautern - if you want to play in KL please contact me here or join our Forum
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 05:37 PM
Post: #6
RE: Sudden Feat



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 144
Joined: Mar 2013
That's it, Khazrak & Fenris. I did read the card very, very carefully, so carefully, in fact, that I realised that there is simple past in that sentence. Not carefully enough to realise that it only works on self tactics, though.

@Christian & Simon: So I can still use a tactic with the hoplites during their own standard activation even though they will already have used a tactic that round? Now on reading all this, it seems that would actually be clearly against the rule text.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2013 08:45 PM
Post: #7
RE: Sudden Feat



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 144
Joined: Mar 2013
Okay, thanks for clearing that up. And while this makes it more difficult to use than I first thought, it also goes to show that Godslayer is a very exact game - which I really like.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-12-2013 11:20 AM
Post: #8
RE: Sudden Feat



André Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,380
Joined: Feb 2012
Ahoi!

We had a discussion about that yesterday and first I got the impression that it is correct as Christian stated it, but actually this rule needs to be clarified!

This is what the rule says:

This tactic is performed as a passive activation and may be performed even when the target unit/model already used a tactic this round.


Ok, so here´s the issue with the current clarification:
the intention was that a model or a unit can still benefit from SUDDEN FEAT even when they have already performed a tactic this round. That´s how it is stated right now.

We did not think about the other way around because if a model or a unit benefitted from SUDDEN FEAT before they got activated, they did not yet perform a tactic by their own. They were just affected by SUDDEN FEATwhich is a passive activation and this not counting as performing a tactic on their own... That´s why we did not mention this scenario because it was clear to us that the model/unit has not yet performed a tactic in this round and may of course still do so after benefitting from SUDDEN FEAT.

Ok, so a model/unit may always perform another tactic no matter if they already benefitted from SUDDEN FEAT or not Smile
(This post was last modified: 03-12-2013 11:25 AM by André.)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-12-2013 11:57 AM
Post: #9
RE: Sudden Feat



CplHicks Offline
Member
***

Posts: 148
Joined: Nov 2012
Now this makes Sudden Feat exponentially more useful. Put this in an errata please to have it codified. The current wording definitly is too ambiguous.
(This post was last modified: 03-12-2013 12:02 PM by CplHicks.)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-12-2013 04:43 PM
Post: #10
RE: Sudden Feat



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 144
Joined: Mar 2013
Oh, okay. But they will still not be able to charge since they performed a passive activation, right?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)