Fadeshift Movement
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Fadeshift Movement
Author Message
04-16-2013 04:08 PM
Post: #1
Fadeshift Movement



PraetorDragoon Offline
Member
***

Posts: 180
Joined: Sep 2012
I have questions about fadeshift, about what it can do and what it can't do.

Fadeshift "Once per round, at any time during his standard activation, the Obsidian Nightmare may immediately move once his movement value in inches for free."

Does this mean I can make a single movement action for free once during my activation, or may I even move during actions (such as a charge, spellcasting or attacks)

Also, is it still possible to charge after you make a fadeshift move. (I guess not, as fadeshift is classed as move, and thus may not charge after movement)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
04-16-2013 04:52 PM
Post: #2
RE: Fadeshift Movement



André Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,380
Joined: Feb 2012
With Fadeshift you can basically move once your movement at any time during your standard activation, so it will allow you to do that at any time you want, just not in between an action (like between charge movement and the charge attack). Whenever you could make an action, you could also use Fadeshift.

When you use Fadeshift, you are not allowed to charge afterwards because (as you mentioned it) it counts as moving.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
04-16-2013 07:25 PM
Post: #3
RE: Fadeshift Movement



PraetorDragoon Offline
Member
***

Posts: 180
Joined: Sep 2012
Just as I expected it to work then.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2014 09:22 PM
Post: #4
RE: Fadeshift Movement



Markgrafgero Offline
Member
***

Posts: 164
Joined: Oct 2012
Just wondering. You are allowed to use abilities before charging, and Fadeshift is a sub faction ability.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2014 12:22 AM
Post: #5
RE: Fadeshift Movement



David Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,228
Joined: Jun 2012
You can use abilities and tactics before charging, but you cannot move before charging unless the ability/tactic specifically states that.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2015 10:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: Fadeshift Movement



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
If a Longshadow uses his Fadeshift to move within 2 inches of a Chainslayer with Whirlwind, does the Chainslayer get to Whirlwind attack?

If the Longshadow spends an Action Point to continue the movement and stops within 1 inch of the Chainslayer, does the Chainslayer get another Whirlwind attack or does the entire movement count as 1 movement?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2015 02:15 PM
Post: #7
RE: Fadeshift Movement



Mnil Offline
Member
***

Posts: 174
Joined: Jan 2014
1. I think yes.
2. I think that it counts as one

My question - is it fade shift counts to the exhaustion limit?

[Image: polanduserbar.png]
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2015 05:55 PM
Post: #8
RE: Fadeshift Movement



Simon Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2012
The Fadeshift movement counts as a free movement action so

- yes, it triggers Whirlwind

- every ACT spend on movement is a single movement action and therefore triggers Whirlwind (it should be easy to avoid suffering two hits; just don't come too close with the first movement and then close in with the second...)

- Since it is a free movement it does not count towards the exhaustion limit (the rules say (p. 61) that you are not allowed to spend more than 4 ACT for movement actions per round (normal infantry), so free movement never counts towards exhaustion limit... makes them pretty fast Wink).

"I find your lack of faith disturbing"
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2015 10:03 PM
Post: #9
RE: Fadeshift Movement



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
2 Whirlwind hits are quite a result for a 1 Action Point tactic. If the Longshadow opponent with Mov 3 was just over 4 inches away from the Chainslayer and spent 2 Action Points for movement to move into 1 inch melee range, would they get hit by the Whirlwind twice during this movement? Once when they enter the 2 inch melee of the Chainslayer and once again when they end their movement inside the 1 inch melee range. Surely Whirlwind triggers when the move has ended? Do the Godslayer rules state that movement ends after every individual Action Point has been spent? If so, when 4 Action Points were spent on movement by a Mov 3 model with Fadeshift, the movement ends at 3, 6, 9 & 12 inches and whenever the Fadeshift ended.
(This post was last modified: 01-18-2015 10:20 PM by crimsontree.)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2015 12:15 AM
Post: #10
RE: Fadeshift Movement



Mnil Offline
Member
***

Posts: 174
Joined: Jan 2014
I think Simon explained that clear enough. Smile

[Image: polanduserbar.png]
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)