Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles
Author Message
03-18-2013 06:14 PM
Post: #1
Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 143
Joined: Mar 2013
Hi,
this came up in a game today: if I use an attack option that has ambidextrous fighter and I fumble the first attack roll, is the second attack forfeit?

My opponent and I looked at the cards and it says "may make one additional attack [...] as part of the same action." Since fumble says "is not allowed to make any further attacks", we ruled that his second attack would be a further attack and thus not be made, since a "further attack" and an "additional attack" seem to be more or less the same.

Was that the correct interpretation? Or would the additional attack from ambidextrous fighter be simultaneous and the fumble effect is only applied after the action itself with all attacks being part of it has been resolved?
(This post was last modified: 03-18-2013 06:16 PM by Skylifter.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-18-2013 10:54 PM
Post: #2
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Khazrak Offline
Member
***

Posts: 157
Joined: Dec 2012
I know, it's not explicitly said, but I would add an additional "actions" behind the description for fumbles, e.g. "is not allowed to make any further attack actions".

We talked a bit about the same problem in our gaming group and in the end said, that everything, that counts as 1 action isn't affected by fumbles in parts of this action, because actually, you already paid the action points and so the attacks are done simultaneously.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-18-2013 11:11 PM
Post: #3
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 143
Joined: Mar 2013
Sounds reasonable, Khazrak. I would find our solution fine, too, however, as after all, fumbling is supposed to be bad luck and have bitter consequences.

In this case, I lost my last model, a syntarch, due to not being able to kill my opponent's last model, a maldire mongrel - it was a very cool ending to a game.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-19-2013 03:19 PM
Post: #4
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



André Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,380
Joined: Feb 2012
Hi,

since the ambidextrous attack is one and the same action, a fumble won´t affect the second attack made with ambidextrous fighter Smile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-19-2013 03:57 PM
Post: #5
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Khazrak Offline
Member
***

Posts: 157
Joined: Dec 2012
Thanks for clearing this up. So we instinctively used the right solution, same as with stuff like Twin Shot (Nordgaard Fimbul Toughborn) or attacks hitting multiple targets at the same time (Rolling Doom of the Banebrood Ursapine or the Nordgaard Fjellgangr's Trash Attack).
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2013 01:42 PM
Post: #6
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Skylifter Offline
Member
***

Posts: 143
Joined: Mar 2013
Cool beans. I would have won! Damn. That was the first game I lost in Godslayer up to now. Big Grin
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 10:51 AM
Post: #7
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



eshjus Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 41
Joined: Dec 2014
I take this opportunity to ask one thing: can I redirect the second attack on another model in range?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 01:16 PM
Post: #8
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



Markgrafgero Offline
Member
***

Posts: 161
Joined: Oct 2012
Nope. Same action, same target model. If it dies with the first attack, the second attack is wasted.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 02:49 PM
Post: #9
RE: Ambidextrous fighter & fumbles



eshjus Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 41
Joined: Dec 2014
Ok, thanks!
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)