Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'
Author Message
02-03-2015 01:50 PM
Post: #1
Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Don_Silvarro Offline
Member
***

Posts: 54
Joined: May 2014
So, the Legio Mortum halve damage taken from attacks with POW 4 or less.

In light of the recent ruling on the Doomangr Devastator, locally we wound up uncertain about what's the actual definition of 'attack'.

To recap what was established with the Doomangr Devastator ruling:
Quote:These are no melee attacks ruleswise, you only make a melee attack roll (that is the exact wording of the abilities) to see if it hits. So all tactics/spells/abilities etc. that refers to a melee attack can't be applied to abilities or tactics that make only a melee attack roll and are not stated as a melee attack

So, making an 'attack roll' does not necessarily mean you are making an 'attack'.

Which effects and abilities are defined as 'attacks' for the purposes of Legio Mortum halving damage?

Specifically, we were wondering if the damage from Aura of Decomposing was halved. But there's a lot of other effects that mention a 'X attack roll' instead of an 'X attack' or just do a straight up damage roll.

Is the damage from Spiked Aspis halved? Is Deathblow damage halved? What about an Animated Statue's zapping aura or a Familiar's explosion? Etc?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 03:31 PM
Post: #2
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
In my eyes, only proper attacks qualify for the reduction; that is melee attacks, missile attacks and magic/spell attacks. Just suffering damage or an effect causing an attack roll without being an attack would not qualify then.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 04:47 PM
Post: #3
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
I hope the developers meant that the damage inflicted by damage rolls with pow 4 or less is halved because otherwise the legio mortum would be crippled, there are quite a few of those attack rolls/straight damage rolls that would not be actual attacks. I think in the playtesting this was taken into account, but let's wait for the answer.

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 06:23 PM
Post: #4
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
Aye, I already asked the devs directly.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 06:50 PM
Post: #5
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
Well, a sad day for Mortans Sad. I can already see a chain lighting from an oracle wiping out entire units of legio mortum.

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
(This post was last modified: 02-03-2015 06:50 PM by Septimus Iulius Severus.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 07:12 PM
Post: #6
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
There are discussing it at this point, so no need to lower the calva alata in mourning yet. Smile

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2015 07:39 PM
Post: #7
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



spy Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: Mar 2013
I hope there will be a "simple" answer (all or nothing).

Otherwise Megalith will end up in writing a list which effect/spell/attack/whatever counts as an "attack" and which one doesn't...
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2016 06:31 PM
Post: #8
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Alexander Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 33
Joined: Jan 2016
Hello, i have another Question:
Does the charge-bonus raise an attack's power concerning the undead subfaction ability?
German rulebook says (translated literally): "[charge bonus] gives them +1 Mel and +1 Pow for their attack- and damage rolls".
It says not that the weopon power is actively raised, but it doesn't say "+1 to the rolls", but "+1 POW" nevertheless. So the charge makes the attack beeing treated as having a higher attack and power - how about the undead rule?

Thank you very much in advance,
Alex
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2016 08:26 PM
Post: #9
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Huscarl Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 320
Joined: Nov 2012
I would say that undead models/units can have the charge bonus on their attacks, because the charge bonus is not classified as a fighting style (see for reference Chapter X Combat & Magic, Charge bonuses) and special rules which refer to fighting styles do not affect charge bonuses.

Or was that changed in the german rulebook or an errata?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2016 10:53 PM
Post: #10
RE: Legio Mortum vs. attacks and 'non-attacks'



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
If I get Alexander right he is asking if a POW raised high enough by a charge bonus can ignore the undead rule. And that is the case as far as I know.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)