"Immediate" healing on Mortifex
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
"Immediate" healing on Mortifex
Author Message
01-09-2015 02:07 AM
Post: #1
"Immediate" healing on Mortifex



CptBartender Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 30
Joined: Dec 2014
Let's say it's my turn, and I, using a Mortifex equipped with a Necaton Lifeblade, attack a living enemy model. Now let's assume that the enemy counterstrikes, and the attack and damage rolls state, that both models are killed by these attacks.

Now, Necaton Lifeblade states, that it immediately restores D6 life points. Can this HP restoration prevent the model from being destroyed in such situation?

I remember a rule about the active player choosing which effect takes place if more than one happens "at the same time" (in which case I could choose the heal to happen before the enemy's counterstrike), though I'm only 70% sure it's not from GodSlayer...
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 10:42 AM
Post: #2
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Euphoric Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 39
Joined: Jun 2014
IMO the Mortifex would enter the "dead-state" and so can't regenerate his HP. But it really is a tricky one.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 12:49 PM
Post: #3
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Euphoric Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 39
Joined: Jun 2014
To clarify my thought:

Everything happens simultaneously so both characters get their HP reduced to (or below) Zero at the same time.
To gain the effect of his Lifeblade the enemy has to be destroyed. But the Mortifex would be destroyed at the same time, so when the effect kicks in he would already be dead. And (unless he is Schrödingers Cat) he can not regain the HP.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 12:58 PM
Post: #4
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



CptBartender Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 30
Joined: Dec 2014
That makes perfect sense.

Thanks for clarification.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 02:24 PM
Post: #5
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,321
Joined: Jun 2012
Euphoric got it right, it happens at the same time and so an effect taking place afterwards (by destroying another model) cannot save the sorcerer.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 03:36 PM
Post: #6
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
So this goes for the Life Leecher of the Lord of Decay too?

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 05:51 PM
Post: #7
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,321
Joined: Jun 2012
That's in fact something different: The LoD heals by dealing damage with the Life Leecher, not by the destruction of the model, which only comes into effect once damage is dealt. So the LoD heals at the same time he is damaged.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2015 06:16 PM
Post: #8
RE: "Immediate" healing on Mortifex



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
Thanks, just to be sure Wink.

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)