ancestral power clarifications?
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
ancestral power clarifications?
Author Message
11-07-2014 04:33 PM
Post: #1
ancestral power clarifications?



Markgrafgero Offline
Member
***

Posts: 164
Joined: Oct 2012
Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?

Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?

Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2014 04:46 PM
Post: #2
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



spy Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: Mar 2013
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?
Yes
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?
The +1 Bonus is for all spell casting rolls.
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?
I don't think so.
Fighting style / page 70:
Each round, models may employ a “fighting style”, and this
fighting style applies for the entire turn. When an attacking
model/unit declares its first melee attack of a standard
activation
, it must then select a fighting style.
I may be wrong but I think this kind of attack is not part of the "standard activation" of this unit.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2014 04:51 PM
Post: #3
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
Spy I think that they can choose a fighting style because the 3rd power that allows a fighting style for attacks AND counterattacks.

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
(This post was last modified: 11-07-2014 04:53 PM by Septimus Iulius Severus.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2014 06:41 PM
Post: #4
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



spy Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 393
Joined: Mar 2013
Maybe. It woulb be nice if it would be that way.
Still I would like to hear the opinion of a moderator in this case. Smile
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2014 06:54 PM
Post: #5
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



Simon Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2012
Spy is right on this one. The free attacks are neither a standard activation nor a counter attack, so no fighting style. A free attack for a whole unit is already damn powerful, allowing fighting styles would be broken (especially considering better undead units in future waves...).

"I find your lack of faith disturbing"
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2014 08:09 PM
Post: #6
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
I can see the issue but considering that having a spellcaster at ancestral power 5 is difficult, I personally don't think this reward is so broken. But if it was intended your way I'll deal with it Smile

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
(This post was last modified: 11-08-2014 12:56 AM by Septimus Iulius Severus.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2014 12:17 AM
Post: #7
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



David Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,228
Joined: Jun 2012
Simon is right. Fighting styles only apply during your own turn (unless a special rule like a tactic etc changes that). This is stated on p70 of the rulebook.

So unfortunately no fighting style during the free attack or during free-strikes.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2014 12:59 AM
Post: #8
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



Septimus Iulius Severus Offline
Member
***

Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 2014
Ok, I got it, thanks for the clarification and the speed of the answers!

Omnibus superstes Imperium est.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-02-2015 06:02 PM
Post: #9
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



rosco Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2014
To use ancestors wisdom powers, the spell caster spends his ancestral tokens?

in ANUBI we trust
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-03-2015 10:25 AM
Post: #10
RE: ancestral power clarifications?



Simon Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2012
No, he just gets the powers equal to and below his current ancestral token value for free.

"I find your lack of faith disturbing"
(This post was last modified: 08-03-2015 10:26 AM by Simon.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)