Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)
Author Message
08-08-2015 02:13 PM
Post: #11
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



udunsflame Offline
Member
***

Posts: 240
Joined: Apr 2014
Hi, We're currently @our tournament and we have encountered this issue again...
I did not find any correct answer, so that's why I'm asking again:

A model is engaged with the Feral Hammerfist and with a brute.
When the brute leaves the melee range of the engaged model :
- does it get hit by a free strike?
- Does the engaged model fully loose the free strike
- or can the free strike been made against the Hammerfist???

Grtz

Club: The Green Knight
udunsminis
"A trap is only a trap if you walk into it before you see it"- Flint Fireforge.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2015 09:06 PM
Post: #12
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
Seems the question was more or less lost in the discussion and needs to be cleared in the FAQ/errata.
In my understanding, I would go with the second interpretation in which the model looses the free strike by a combination of two rules:
- the model may not attack the disengaging model because of Threaten (not even with free strikes).
- the model may not make a free strike against the Hammerfist as the Hammerfist does not provoke any free strike.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2015 10:41 PM
Post: #13
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



laurens Offline
Member
***

Posts: 225
Joined: May 2014
We had the same Idea in the tournament battle. But for the sake of the game i did not provoke the free strike. since there was no 100% clearity about this subject (I just smashed the unit instead)

Club: The Green Knight

"You have to learn the rules of the game.
And then you have to play better than anyone else."
Albert Einstein
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2015 01:16 PM
Post: #14
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
(08-08-2015 10:41 PM)laurens Wrote:  (I just smashed the unit instead)
Wink

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2015 05:20 PM
Post: #15
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



yindaka Offline
Newbie
*

Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2014
I was on the receiving end of this Hammerfist model (which I then smashed the turn thereafter, tell them the whole story Laurens Wink ) In the end there was no need for any free strike as the Brute did not leave combat.

Yet I must say that I do not agree with the fact that the free strike is lost, free strike is a penalty one takes for disengaging quite unorderly (they just turn their back and run). Even when looking through the eyes of the model, I can't see why one would not take this opportune chance to dispose of a foe, even if there's something threatening next to you. You can basically just do some penaltyless disengaging shenanigans and maybe even line for a new charge next round. I know my word counts for a lot less, but I felt I just had to state my disagreement. I'll adhere to the ruling made though.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2015 08:07 PM
Post: #16
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



Raoul Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 1,322
Joined: Jun 2012
Well, I am in no position to offer an official ruling! This was merely my interpretation of the situation, but we will need David's decision in the official errata/faq document.

Smashing empires of man is a moral duty
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-10-2015 08:57 AM
Post: #17
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



udunsflame Offline
Member
***

Posts: 240
Joined: Apr 2014
I also think rule 2 looks like the right one, but there should indeed be a FAQ to this.

The combo of the Hammerfist and loosing all free strikes is cruel...
Maybe an extra rule for Threaten like: When making free strikes against models other then the Hammerfist, reduce the final POW by D3/D6...

Club: The Green Knight
udunsminis
"A trap is only a trap if you walk into it before you see it"- Flint Fireforge.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2015 03:57 PM
Post: #18
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



Simon Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2012
Interpretation 2 is right and as it was intended. Think of it as a big bad angry beast (I guess none has a problem to imagine that...) so threatening that it allows his fellows to fall back. The enemies are just so intmidated by his sheer brute force that they hesitate and miss the short moment where there is an opening in their opponents defense to make a free strike.

But remember that only the enemies that are engaged by the hammerfist lose their free strikes...

"I find your lack of faith disturbing"
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2015 07:11 PM
Post: #19
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



laurens Offline
Member
***

Posts: 225
Joined: May 2014
Great and threatening. Just the way I like my big bad angry beasts Smile

Club: The Green Knight

"You have to learn the rules of the game.
And then you have to play better than anyone else."
Albert Einstein
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2015 08:59 AM
Post: #20
RE: Threaten (Feral Hammerfist)



udunsflame Offline
Member
***

Posts: 240
Joined: Apr 2014
This can be one hell of a combo... The hammerfist and another model/unit who can charge every turn....
(Charge, attack, fall back... Charge, attack, fall back...) ;-)

What happends if you have 2 hammerfists engaged with the same model???

Club: The Green Knight
udunsminis
"A trap is only a trap if you walk into it before you see it"- Flint Fireforge.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)