Woodwise ability
Megalith Games - Official Forums


Post Reply 
Woodwise ability
Author Message
06-02-2014 09:02 AM
Post: #1
Woodwise ability



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
If a charge needs Line of Sight, how can a Reaver charge through a forest with the Woodwise ability if the Line of Sight rules for the forest still apply?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014 11:23 AM
Post: #2
RE: Woodwise ability



Simon Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2012
He can't... Wink

Only if he has LOS (e.g. he is at the edge of the forrest)

"I find your lack of faith disturbing"
(This post was last modified: 06-02-2014 11:24 AM by Simon.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014 01:17 PM
Post: #3
RE: Woodwise ability



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
Ok. It says in the ability text that forests are treated as open terrain for movement & charges. If the Reaver can't charge through a forest, what is the point of that piece of text?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014 03:43 PM
Post: #4
RE: Woodwise ability



Christian Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 229
Joined: Apr 2012
he can if he sees, like Simon said (edge of a forest). So he can't through the whole forest, only pieces of it (other models get penalties for doing so.).
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014 04:47 PM
Post: #5
RE: Woodwise ability



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
(06-02-2014 03:43 PM)Christian Wrote:  he can if he sees, like Simon said (edge of a forest). So he can't through the whole forest, only pieces of it (other models get penalties for doing so.).

Thanks. If I understand it correctly, the edge of the forest can't be deeper than 1 inch, otherwise the Reaver can't see through it.

Does the Reaver not suffer these penalties you mentioned that affect the other models? Where can I find these penalties in the rulebook?

If there is a medium or large based model within charge range & on the other side of the forest, can the Reaver see him & then charge through the forest?
(This post was last modified: 06-02-2014 04:49 PM by crimsontree.)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2014 02:25 AM
Post: #6
RE: Woodwise ability



David Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,216
Joined: Jun 2012
Any model can see 1 Inch through forest, whether it is at the edge or inside the forest. P104

Forests are also Difficult Terrain, so most models have half movement when moving through forest, including for Charge movement. P104

REavers Woodwise ability enable them to move at normal Speed inside forest, including for charges.

So a Reaver Tribesman inside the forest seeing an enemy model 1 inch away could charge at normal speed. Okay that's not particularly helpful, because anyway 1 Inch should be within charge range for any Godslayer model.

Their rule is useful for:
-Regular movement through a forest. this allows you to move your guys away from potential charges where the enemy is unlikely to follow. It also enable you to move through forests to make attacks that would normally not be possible for other models (who would normally Need to go around the forest).
Remember if you have enough ACT, you can use regular movement to engage the enemy and then make an attack on them.

-Charging out of a forest (when 1 Inch inside). Remember only one model of the unit needs to make a successful charge for the entire unit to count as making a successful charge). This is also the same when Reavers are outside and charging models that are one Inch or less inside a forest. That extra 1 Inch movement can mean all the difference sometimes.

It is never possible to draw line of sight through a forest from one side to the other, so a medium or large base model on the other side cannot be seen.
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2014 08:58 AM
Post: #7
RE: Woodwise ability



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
Thanks for the detailed reply & clarifications. Plenty of food for thought. I'm looking forward to playing the Reavers. They seem quite adaptable & well suited for forest based ambushes.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2014 01:04 AM
Post: #8
RE: Woodwise ability



David Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,216
Joined: Jun 2012
Yeah, definitely get yourself some forest terrain pieces :-)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2014 10:06 AM
Post: #9
RE: Woodwise ability



crimsontree Offline
Member
***

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2014
We played a forest scenario last night. I got slaughtered thanks to some poor tactical choices & good play from my opponent.

When a Chainslayer uses any of his Chainblades attacks in a forest is the range reduced to 1" because of the line of sight?

Is his Whirlwind tactic also reduced to 1" because of the line of sight?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2014 04:27 PM
Post: #10
RE: Woodwise ability



spy Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 392
Joined: Mar 2013
page 37:

Drawing line of sight


In many cases, models require a clear view in order
accomplish such things as
Charging (page 62), Shooting (page 74) or Casting Spells (page 77). These rules simulate battlefield reality, preventing unreal situations such as running through other people, shooting through brick walls or casting spells
through a thick forest.

A model has line of sight to another model or an object
as long as an unobstructed line can be drawn from any one
point of the origin model’s base to any part of the object or
anywhere on the target model’s base.


page 104:

Forests

Forest terrain represents sections of woodland or heath of all
types, from dense pine to open deciduous and tangled brush.
Models can draw line of sight through 1 inch of forest. A
model standing deeper within a forest than 1” cannot be seen
by any model outside the forest and in return cannot draw line
of sight to any model outside the forest.

The answer is: all kind of attacks are reduced to 1" inside a forest.
You can't attack what you can't see.
(This post was last modified: 09-25-2014 04:28 PM by spy.)
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)