ancestral power clarifications? - Printable Version
Megalith Games - Official Forums
ancestral power clarifications? - Printable Version

+- Megalith Games - Official Forums (http://forums.megalith-games.com)
+-- Forum: GODSLAYER (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Forum: Rules Questions & Discussions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+---- Forum: Mortans Rules (/forumdisplay.php?fid=18)
+---- Thread: ancestral power clarifications? (/showthread.php?tid=1332)

Pages: 1 2


ancestral power clarifications? - Markgrafgero - 11-07-2014 04:33 PM

Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?

Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?

Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - spy - 11-07-2014 04:46 PM

(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?
Yes
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?
The +1 Bonus is for all spell casting rolls.
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote:  Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?
I don't think so.
Fighting style / page 70:
Each round, models may employ a “fighting style”, and this
fighting style applies for the entire turn. When an attacking
model/unit declares its first melee attack of a standard
activation
, it must then select a fighting style.
I may be wrong but I think this kind of attack is not part of the "standard activation" of this unit.


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - Septimus Iulius Severus - 11-07-2014 04:51 PM

Spy I think that they can choose a fighting style because the 3rd power that allows a fighting style for attacks AND counterattacks.


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - spy - 11-07-2014 06:41 PM

Maybe. It woulb be nice if it would be that way.
Still I would like to hear the opinion of a moderator in this case. Smile


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - Simon - 11-07-2014 06:54 PM

Spy is right on this one. The free attacks are neither a standard activation nor a counter attack, so no fighting style. A free attack for a whole unit is already damn powerful, allowing fighting styles would be broken (especially considering better undead units in future waves...).


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - Septimus Iulius Severus - 11-07-2014 08:09 PM

I can see the issue but considering that having a spellcaster at ancestral power 5 is difficult, I personally don't think this reward is so broken. But if it was intended your way I'll deal with it Smile


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - David - 11-08-2014 12:17 AM

Simon is right. Fighting styles only apply during your own turn (unless a special rule like a tactic etc changes that). This is stated on p70 of the rulebook.

So unfortunately no fighting style during the free attack or during free-strikes.


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - Septimus Iulius Severus - 11-08-2014 12:59 AM

Ok, I got it, thanks for the clarification and the speed of the answers!


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - rosco - 08-02-2015 06:02 PM

To use ancestors wisdom powers, the spell caster spends his ancestral tokens?


RE: ancestral power clarifications? - Simon - 08-03-2015 10:25 AM

No, he just gets the powers equal to and below his current ancestral token value for free.