Megalith Games - Official Forums

Full Version: 300P trogglodites list.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Last week I tested a new list (299p) for Troglodytes I made.
It did the job so I wanted to share it with you all.

Any comments feel free ! Never bad to hear other ideas

Duskborn Chieftain
Chain Whips
Thick Hide
Iron Crown

Lighteater
Ironhide Brutes (full unit)
Longshadows (full unit)
Otherworld Stability


Tactic was to use the list was to keep the group together.
The Lighteater leading and the group using the Eclipse tactic to provide cover for the units.

In second fase of the battel the Lighteaters job is to go and get warmachines and lonesome characters that play hide and seek

The Lighteaters is followed by the Brutes that are the fist of this list.

Behind the brutes the warlord providing protection and scarring of enemies to come closer. also he gives extra act and tactics for the unit's.

The Longshadows benefiting from the extra movement, running around and mindblasting to weaken/kill the enemy troops and lonesome characters, mindblasting is their main job.

As always playing Troggs, I like to control the battle making use of the terrain, deciding when to enter close combat and when not.
I like it to delay close combat, just threatening with a charge or just keeping the enemy out of charge range for 1 or 2 rounds. just to keep coming in range mindblasting and running back out of charge range.

The lighteater is a good model to use for engaging a unit (not necessary hitting a model) and running away benefiting from the spectral strider. In this way the model/unit can not declare a charge. using the rule in the round. (rule om page 62:A model/unit can declare a charge against any enemy model in line of sight, as long as the charging model or any member of the charging unit is not already engaging or engaged bya model.)
(10-26-2015 06:04 PM)laurens Wrote: [ -> ]The lighteater is a good model to use for engaging a unit (not necessary hitting a model) and running away benefiting from the spectral strider. In this way the model/unit can not declare a charge. using the rule in the round. (rule om page 62:A model/unit can declare a charge against any enemy model in line of sight, as long as the charging model or any member of the charging unit is not already engaging or engaged bya model.)

Don't know if I understand you right, but I think you made a mistake here:
If the unit is not engaged (neither engaging enemies themselves nor beeing engaged by them) when it is activated, it can charge, if it hasn't made any attacks (including counter attacks) before during that turn. So if the Lighteater moves away in his activation and the unit is not engaged anymore when activated, it can charge (if it didn't make any counterattacks).
Correct: The intention is to provoke a counter attack and then run away with the spectral strider rule. (the lighteater does need to attack)
Don't forget to use the Lighteater's haze effect to cover your flanks!
Can be a very helpful tool in my opinion. Smile
But watch out for units which ignore normal line of sight rules!

E.g.
"For Feral Trolls, sight is of little use; the Grayhorns sense of smell leads them to their prey, and they are therefore able to charge without line-of-sight to the enemy."

Or the Wyldvolk Fiannor Farfarer may buy some arrows which ignore line of sight.
Killed a lighteater just a few weeks ago with these arrows.
My adversary was quite shocked and it took him 2 rounds to recover from this shock... ^^
Well, the loss of any one Lighteater makes shadow cry.
Next time, watch your own shadow you cast on the tabletop and you'll see it's true!
Reference URL's