Megalith Games - Official Forums

Full Version: ancestral power clarifications?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?

Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?

Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote: [ -> ]Power 2 vigor mortis
More than one model/unit can benefit from this ability if they are in range right?
Yes
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote: [ -> ]Power 4 missa mortum
Is it +1 for ALL spell casting rolls and a cheaper first spell per turn or are both benefits just for the first spell?
The +1 Bonus is for all spell casting rolls.
(11-07-2014 04:33 PM)Markgrafgero Wrote: [ -> ]Power 5 furor malorum
Can the model/unit choose a fighting style while doing the free attack?
I don't think so.
Fighting style / page 70:
Each round, models may employ a “fighting style”, and this
fighting style applies for the entire turn. When an attacking
model/unit declares its first melee attack of a standard
activation
, it must then select a fighting style.
I may be wrong but I think this kind of attack is not part of the "standard activation" of this unit.
Spy I think that they can choose a fighting style because the 3rd power that allows a fighting style for attacks AND counterattacks.
Maybe. It woulb be nice if it would be that way.
Still I would like to hear the opinion of a moderator in this case. Smile
Spy is right on this one. The free attacks are neither a standard activation nor a counter attack, so no fighting style. A free attack for a whole unit is already damn powerful, allowing fighting styles would be broken (especially considering better undead units in future waves...).
I can see the issue but considering that having a spellcaster at ancestral power 5 is difficult, I personally don't think this reward is so broken. But if it was intended your way I'll deal with it Smile
Simon is right. Fighting styles only apply during your own turn (unless a special rule like a tactic etc changes that). This is stated on p70 of the rulebook.

So unfortunately no fighting style during the free attack or during free-strikes.
Ok, I got it, thanks for the clarification and the speed of the answers!
To use ancestors wisdom powers, the spell caster spends his ancestral tokens?
No, he just gets the powers equal to and below his current ancestral token value for free.
Pages: 1 2
Reference URL's